long-distance relationship

best friends makin' it work

salaam alaikoum, sadiqiti

hello, friend.

As I was adding decorative flare to my walls this afternoon, I came across something that put a smile on my face. For those of you who don’t already know, Rohini graced the good people of Morocco with her lovely presence last spring. You can check out her then blog at moroccanro.blogspot.com. I’ll admit that I was very jealous of her new digs and of all of her new adventures (without me), but I’m happy she had a great time, came back in one piece, and our long distance relationship endured. What I found at the bottom of a small box was a postcard that managed to make its way across the atlantic to new york, and then took yet another trip with me down to dc. If any of you happen to be heading to Rabat any time soon, use this post for its many restaurant suggestions. Here it is.
___

Dearest yang,

I can’t tell you how much I’ve missed you these past few months. I’d like to think that you and I will come back to Morocco together someday when we ditch our husbands to travel the world together. And when we do come here I expect us in true Rohini/Yang style to hit up all my favorite food spots here in a day full of shoving our faces. To give you a preview of what to expect… first, we’d go to Majestic and buy some really good pastries for breakfast, then we’d go to the really good smoothie shop, then Café Renaissance for French fries with mustard and ketchup, then Baba Ghanouj for some hummus and pita, then at the end of the day we’d polish it all off with three scoops of ice cream at Passions. So, I miss you and can’t wait until we eat Chipotle together again.

Love you,

Rohini
___

I look forward to taking this trip and following that exact itinerary, preferably sooner than later. I hear men from that part of the world are particularly aggressive, even sleazy, i’d like to see how I would deal in a place like that. i’m sure rohini and i would come back with some good stories. until then, she and i are hitting up Chipotle the next time we’re reunited. Chipotle is 6.75 in dc! it cost 8 dollars in new york. finding out that bit of information was the highlight of my day yesterday, that and actually eating Chipotle with Matt Cline.

No comments yet»

Leave a comment